A new kind of jungle… part 1…

There is another kind of jungle on Maui than the jungle over on the wet side of the island…

a 1 a 1

My wife and I jumped in the monster-vomit-green Mustang and drove around the other end of the island. Here is that map I posted when I first started sharing these pictures of our second honeymoon…

a 1 a 2

We have learned about the rainy side and the road to Hana, and we have talked about our trip to the top of Haleakala, the volcano. This little adventure took us from our hotel on Napili bay out around the other tip of Maui… to where that little red X is at the very top of the map… and we found some really high cliffs…

a 1 a 3

The pictures don’t really capture how high these cliffs are…

a 1 a 4

We also saw lots of the red dirt that Maui is famous for…

a 1 a 5

This end of the island is covered with jungle…

a 1 a 6

And the cliffs offer some spectacular views of the sea and the other little islands nearby…

a 1 a 7

And then we found a little trail and walked down to this beach…

a 1 a 8

The trail led through a jungle that was very different from the jungle on the other side of the island…

a 1 a 9

But there were still plants growing on plants that were growing on other plants… and we saw a lot of chickens… but I already shared those pictures with you.

 

About pouringmyartout

You will laugh at my antics... That is my solemn promise to you... Or your money back... Stop on by...
This entry was posted in My travels, Stories of my life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new kind of jungle… part 1…

  1. Paul says:

    Neat pictures. When I drove commercially some of my driving was rural 2-lane roads. One of the most annoying and dangerous problems was tourists stopping on turns and blind curves and hills to take pictures. I’d come barrelling around at turn with a loaded trator trailer at the speed limit and some duncehat tourist would pull out in front of me while chatting to their passenger. OMG! Smoking brakes . skid marks ,and with any luck, a miss. One fine and beautiful day, I was running east on the Airline (Hwy #9 between Bangor Maine and the Canadian border at Calais Maine) and started down a steep hill and around a corner. As I rounded the corner, there were two cars parked directly in my lane while they did their tourist thing. there wasn’t enough room for me to get by on the shoulder and certainly not near enough time to get stopped. My time was up. I did the only thing I could to keep from killing them: I swerved into the oncoming lane. Which was occupied by a Maine State Trooper proceeding west. I was hard on the brakes and many wheels were locked leaving skid marks with smoke flying. The trooper darted for the dirt shoulder and we passed with me in his lane. I was absolutely sure I was in for the biggest fine and hit to my licence I’d ever suffered. I pulled to a stop soon as I could and got out and looked back.The trooper had turned on his lights and was parked on the shoulder facing the parked cars and was out giving them a big lecture. His mouth and his finger were both going a mile a minute while the car drivers looked down and shuffled their feet. The trooper saw me standing and watching from a distnce and just waved me on. Whew!

    All that to say, I’m sure you were very careful whole doing your tourist thing PMAO – the pic of the car with the door open on the shoulder made my hair stand on end once more. Sorry about the rant.

  2. The shot of your car in front of the red earth is outstanding. Wait. That’s you. Out standing on the road.

Leave a comment