I made a monkey!

a 1 monkey copy

Well… I mean, I drew a monkey, and then painted it in with water-color paints, and then did the outlines with ink. And then I scanned it and put it is to Photoshop and zoomed in and cleaned up all the tiny details and smudges.

What I want to know is this: Is it cute enough to use in a book for kids. I will have to do about 12 more monkeys… funny monkeys… doing things… I can’t explain it all now. But is this a monkey that little kids would love?

About pouringmyartout

You will laugh at my antics... That is my solemn promise to you... Or your money back... Stop on by...
This entry was posted in dogs and other animals, My art, Stories of my life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to I made a monkey!

  1. I like your drawing very much. He looks so happy! Very nice monkey. With the heavier brow and the line under his mouth he looks older — as in, not a young monkey. I have a lot of questions about the monkey, but I’m guessing you’ll share more as time goes on. Creating books for kids is something I value so much. My children and I just got home from the library, actually! So I wish you well on this wonderful adventure.

  2. benzeknees says:

    Are all your monkeys going to be naked? How will we tell them apart? Pretty good drawing of a monkey though – I like Zoe’s idea of polka dotting some of them.

  3. elroyjones says:

    I heard Curious George took one look at this monkey and he quit!

  4. jatwood4 says:

    Absolutely! You captured the essence of a little kid in your monkey — any kid would love it. I do!

  5. If I was into monkeys, I’d say that one is a superior and attractive member of the primate family.

  6. List of X says:

    I vote “cute”.
    By the way, about 12 monkeys doing things… are you working on an animated version of “12 Monkeys”? (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0114746/)

  7. grovewithin says:

    Just asked my son and he loved it! He said he liked his big head and pink nose…i asked what name would you give him, he kept it simple enough “monkey-boy” because he said it looked like a boy, lol! Very cute:)

  8. ksbeth says:

    yes it is cute, i am a monkey lover and kindy teacher and i think we would all enjoy seeing him in a book

  9. addercatter says:

    I say yes. (And I act like a kid sometimes, so my opinion should definitely suffice)

  10. toad (chris jensen) says:

    Hey is that the new george?

  11. userdand says:

    It needs sunglasses and facial hair to be believable.

  12. Yes, you know what else would be good with some other monkeys that you have to make? Polka dot monkeys and such. 😉

  13. cavepainter says:

    “I will have to do about 12 more monkeys… funny monkeys… doing things… I can’t explain it all now.”

    Hmm, suspicious. Sounds like some monkey business going on there.

  14. You’re not sure if that monkey is fit for a book? Why can’t you do it? Why can’t you set your monkey free?

  15. El Guapo says:

    The nose isn’t particularly monkey like, but yeah, it’s cute.

    Was the earlier picture one of a monkey head photoshopped on your body?
    (Did you make a monkey out of you?)
    HAHAHAHA

  16. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I think it is cute 🙂

    (disregard my comment on the previous post, I didn’t know you had already come up with this!)

  17. Jo says:

    Its pretty bloody cute!

Leave a comment